I have looked on forums & in Toad's tutorials. There are discussions about this, but I still don't understand:
After a select query is run, for instance, there is a results page generated which runs the query and, obviously, returns the results. However, this section is editable. So I don't understand, does this mean that these results, as I edit them, are pushed back to the DB, as if I were running an "update commit"? I am fairly savvy with SQL, but not with this sort of editable interface. Assuming it is like running an update commit, are permissions automatically checked? E.g., it will only commit if I have permissions to make changes to that DB, as the user that I've logged in as when making the connection?
A related question, which is addressed, but not clearly enough for me. I am trying to adjust my toolbar, and sometimes the commit & rollback buttons are hidden, as well as others. Is this because, as the user that I'm logged in as, I am not able to commit changes? I am assuming / hoping this is the case, but I could not find anywhere that explicitly said this. Otherwise, there is a bug that will not let me add / change icons to the toolbar.